Taking inspiration from the artist Alex Litel, I decided to make my self portraits feature my digital drawing style that I use in most of my animations. This post will explain the process I undertook to make two self portraits.

The first thing you need is a photo of yourself:

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 20.09.31

Then you make a new layer for every time you want your gif to change:
Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 20.09.48

I made several layers as I wanted my gif to change a lot:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 22.02.59

 

 

 

 

Once you have made all the different layers you want you then can make the animation, first you need to make sure the timeline window is showing:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To create the animation timeline you have to click Create Frame Animation in the timeline box:

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 20.13.40

Then to make the different layers you into frames you have to click the timeline menu and select make frames from layers:

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 22.08.16.jpg

To make the animation loop you have to change the settings on the bottom section of the timeline window, set this window to forever:

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 20.14.10

If the animation is too quick or too slow you can adjust each frame and make the delay shorter of longer. In my case my animation was too quick so set a delay on all the frames to 0.2 seconds. To do this I selected all of the frames and clicked the drop down menu and changed the value:

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 22.13.10

Before exporting it is a good idea to check that the animation looks how you want it to look and also check the image size so that the file is not too big. The image should be no bigger than 1000×1500 pixels with a resolution of 72, this is to ensure that the gif will play well and not take ages to load. The next thing to do is export the video by clicking File> Export> Save for Web

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 22.17.41.jpg

Now you have to choose the amount of colours the gif will produce. The more colours you have the bigger the file size which will mean it will take a long time to load. I go through the colours and pick the biggest number that will keep the file size under or on 2m:

Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 22.23.13 1    Screen Shot 2016-05-03 at 22.23.06

Then all you have to do is save it where you want and its ready to go. It’s worth checking the Gif works which you can do by dragging the file into your web browser.

Once I made this one I tried to make a gif that was all digitally drawn, keeping within my style:

Animated-self-portrait

I like it however, I feel that if I had a better photo and more detailed drawings then the gif would look a lot slicker.

FWP

References:

Litel, A., 2014, http://alexlitel.tumblr.com/post/95804070591/i-created-my-first-ever-gif-in-photoshop-hurray

Litel, A., 2011, “Me” http://alexlitel.tumblr.com/post/12120776279/gratuitous-gif-of-portions-of-a-painting

Leave a Reply

