I decided to take another picture of myself as I didn’t like the photo from the last attempt. I wanted to have more detail in the gif so I chose a wider shot.

IMG_8999

I cropped it to a square to get rid of wasted space.

Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 20.18.15

In Photoshop I then drew over the picture and made a new layer every time I wanted to change something.

Screen Shot 2016-05-15 at 17.42.34

 

I really liked the strong contrast between the black and white and blue.

Screen Shot 2016-05-15 at 17.45.32

I then made a new layer every time I wanted something different on the lens of the glasses, I chose symbols, images and colours that had meaning to me. Everything to the trivial to the meaningful.

I liked having different colours in my gif but it meant the file size was increased. Thinking about my research I really liked the simple colour palette style of Lichtenstein. So instead I exported the gif with less colour, which made the piece feel completed. Comparing my gif to my research I feel that I have successful made my gif fast pace like Alex Litel and contain enough detail that was seen in Petras work.

This is my final self-portrait gif:

FINAL-GIF1

FWP

 

 

Leave a Reply

